Home UK Certifications/Qualifications › You are here


IRCA Maritime Safety Management Systems (MSMS) Certification Scheme, Auditing MSMS Course, and ISO 9001-2015 Transition Training for Quality Professionals

chartered quality institute cqi

Founded in 1919 as the Institute of Quality Assurance and attained Chartered status in 2006, the Chartered Quality Institute (CQI) is a global professional body advancing the practice of quality management in all sectors. CQI is headquartered in London. IRCA (International Register of Certificated Auditors) is a division of the CQI, and is the leading professional body for management system auditors. IRCA certifies quality professionals and IRCA certificated auditors command high reputation around the world.

With members all over the world, CQI and IRCA members are part of quality management professionals (CQI members) and management systems auditors through the specialist division IRCA. The system comprises of a global network of nearly 20,000 quality professionals.

The CQI also has a portfolio of training courses which help professionals acquiring the shills needed in their profession. CQI and IRCA Certified Training are mapped to the Competency Framework, ensuring that learning is aligned to the skills and knowledge call on by industry.

Certification & Training Programs

MSMS Certification Scheme

  • IRCA Maritime Safety Management Systems (MSMS) Certification: The IRCA Maritime Safety Management Systems Certification Scheme has been developed in line with the International Safety Management (ISM) Code for ships, to provide auditor training and certification for the marine industry. You must already have successfully completed the QMS Lead Auditor training course to be eligible for certification in this scheme. Maritime auditors are certified to operate only within the marine sector.
  • Following the introduction of ISO 9001-2015, all current IRCA Certificated Maritime Auditors are required to attend IRCA Certified ISO 9001:2015 Transition Training by 1 September 2018 in order to maintain their certification.

MSMS & ISO Training Courses

  • Auditing MSMS Course (24 hours): CQI and IRCA Maritime Safety Management Systems Auditor Training course prepares maritime professionals to assess the conformance of a maritime organization’s management system to the ISM Code. This course covers the management systems approach to identifying and managing maritime safety risks, the requirements of the ISM Code and specific ISM audit approaches. This course is for auditors with experience in another process-based management system (eg QMS or EMS) who want to transfer their skills to audit against the international safety management code. Successful completion of this course is a requirement for certification as an Auditor on IRCA's MSMS Scheme.
  • ISO 9001-2015 Transition Training: This course brings auditors up to date on the revised version of ISO 9001 and the skills needed to audit against the new standard. All IRCA Certificated QMS, PQMS, aerospace and maritime auditors are required to complete the training by 1 September 2018. You must complete this training to maintain your IRCA certification.