What is STCW? - An Introduction to STCW for Seafarers including STCW 2010 Amendments

stcw intro

The International Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping (STCW) for Seafarers was adopted in 1978 by conference at the International Maritime Organization (IMO) in London, and entered into force in 1984. It was amended in 1995 and again in 2010. Read more..
Also Check: STCW Code - STCW Sections, Tables & Regulations

Types of STCW Certificates and Requirements & Pathways for Seafarers Under STCW

coc intro

Under the STCW Convention, all seafarers need to meet minimum standards of competence, age, medical fitness, and approved sea-going service. These standards are set by each national administration, but as a minimum, they should reflect STCW standards.. Read more...

Featured Online USCG Captain's Licensing Programs - Mariners Learning System (MLS)

mls featured

USCG Approved Online Captain and Master License Training,Study Packages and Home Study Guides & FCC license prep and Online Tests - Located in Pennington NJ, Mariners Learning System provides USCG Certified Licensing Courses with their flexible online training & online USCG Exams. With over 25,000 students enrolled, a success rate of over 98% . Read more..

General Requirements for Officers (Deck and Engine) & Officer Cadets Going for Sea Duty

officer home

If you are a Merchant Ship Officer, you must meet minimum requirements in respect of standards of competence, seagoing service time, medical fitness and age. You should be in possession of a valid certificate of competence according to your rank and functions on-board. This certificate should be endorsed.. Read more..

General STCW Requirements for Ratings Part of a Watch (Deck or Engine)

ratings home

Ratings fall under three general categories - those forming part of a watch (deck or engine), those who are not assigned watch-keeping duties, and those undergoing training. As a rating you are required to meet minimum standards of medical fitness, minimum age, competence.. Read more..

Featured Online MCA UK School - VIRSEC

virsec online home

VIRSEC is UK DfT Maritime & Coastguard Agency (UK MCA) and Continuous Professional Development (CPD) approved course provider. With learners from over 110 countries, the courses can be completed 100% Online. The range of courses include - Maritime, Port Security, Personal Security & Self Defense, Anti-terrorism & Risk Mitigation, and more Read more..

IMO STCW Model Courses For Seafarers and Other Personnel OnShore

stcw training

IMO STCW Training and Education Programs for Seafarers in Accordance with the STCW Convention - STCW Training Courses are the result of 1978 convention by the International Maritime organization (IMO) - a UN body - calling on all seafaring nations to plan and devise a set of conventions for the safety, security, and various other aspects.. Read more..