Home Online ICC Academy › You are here

Online Free Trade Agreement Certificate (FTAC) - ICC Academy

export import certificate eic online

Access New Markets, Reduce Costs and Source Suppliers at more Competitive Rates - Career Oriented Free Trade Agreement Certificate (FTAC) from ICC Academy Online

ftac online

International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) Academy delivers online certification and professional development services to meet the educational needs of banks, corporate and other organizations at the forefront of International Trade.

Free Trade Agreements are bilateral or multinational trade agreements. Trade agreements occur when two or more nations agree on the terms of trade between them. They determine the tariffs and duties that countries impose on imports and exports. All trade agreements affect International Trade.

There are three types of trade agreements. Unilateral trade agreement occurs when a country favors or imposes trade restrictions and no other country is involved. Bilateral trade agreements occur when two countries agree to loosen trade restrictions to expand business opportunities. Multilateral trade agreements are agreements among three or more countries and are the most difficult to negotiate and agree.

The Free Trade Agreement Certificate (FTAC) provides an understanding of the often difficult and legalistic FTA rules to enter key overseas markets and generate revenue-boosting solutions.

FTAC is suitable for the carriers, customs brokers, forwarders, insurers, logistics service providers, professionals working in supply chain and manufacturing, as well as trade consultants in the trade and logistics industry.

It is also useful for the audit, legal, procurement, sales, taxation and trade compliance teams, as well as business development executives in the corporate sector.

Divided into 5 lessons, the three-hour interactive course aims to train companies, especially small and medium-sized enterprises, to be adept at using FTAs to boost Export competitiveness and identify new growth opportunities.

Program Summary

fta online certificate

FTAC Structure & Curriculum

incoterms icc

  • The Free Trade Agreement Certificate (FTAC) is comprised of five different lessons and you will need to complete all of these to take the final exam.
  • All the lessons are online meaning they can be taken at any time of day, from anywhere in the world. Fit them in around your busy workload and learn at your own pace
  • 10 sample documents and 35 assessment questions to help you grasp key concepts easily and review the course material

FTAC Certificate Outline

  • Lesson 1 -  Strategic Planning: Explains the historical development of general agreement on tariffs and trade and the establishment of the WTO & distinguishes the linkage between WTO principles and FTAs
  • Lesson 2 - Basics and Overview: Identifies key FTA technical clauses relevant for liberalizing trade; explains the general rules of interpretation of Harmonized System (HS) product classification and tariff schedule; and recognizes why products must meet the Rules of Origin to qualify for tariff concession.
  • Lesson 3 - Business Operations: Explores Global Value Chains (GVCs) and the role of developing economies in the production process and the “de-nationalization” of manufacturing products; determines the features and variations of preferential FTAs; and explains the key features of preferential FTAs in GVC.
  • Lesson 4: Industry Case Studies
  • Lesson 5: Assessment

Read More or Join Now!

LAST UPDATED ON Jul 10, 2023